The days are REALLY Getting Shorter!

November

These are November pictures showing the two sewer pipes that I found and inserted into the ground in my xeric gardens out front to help get the Skyrocket Juniper and the Zelkova tree established when I planted them. The pipes have diameters of 4 inches and go down around 10 inches. The soil here is all gravel and packed, with the result that water runs over the top and away or it drains very quickly through the soil. There are there to put the water where the roots are and to prevent the hot summer sun from evaporating it before the tree has a chance to use it. It seems to work, as both trees have become established and soon won’t need the pipes. At that time, I’ll probably move the pipes elsewhere where they’re needed.

20161119_154142

This is what’s left of the Japanese Lantern plant that a neighbour gave me. It’s planted with the Clematis vine that came from the same garden. Now, I know that these plants have a desire to take over the world, which is why I put it against a building, surrounded with paving tiles. That way it should be easier to keep it in check. Also, at this time of the year, when the clematis is long gone, there’s a spot of colour at the end of the Pass-through Garden.

20161029_112021

Willy’s Bridge over Shallow Water, as it is now. Made of 4x4s and fence posts with a pallet covered with plywood for a bridge deck, it crosses the overflow from Willy’s Pond when I clean the water in it. I am trying to landscape it to resemble a natural little stream, with a few small shrubs and perennials mixed in.

Plans are to insert more supporting structure in Spring and to paint it all white (except the deck). Eventually, hopes are that it’ll blend in better than now!

20161129_110643

This is a view of my garage with the new addition behind it from one of the neighbours’ houses. As you can see, the neighbours have tucked their garden away for winter. I envy their neatness!!

 

About Trillium

Retired teacher living in Lillooet on the banks of the Fraser River in the mountains of the Interior of British Columbia in western Canada. I have gardened since I was 3 and I recently turned 71 years of age, so it has been a long time. I began gardening in southern Quebec in eastern Canada, just north of the Vermont border. Next, I tried it in Prince George, in central British Columbia, where the temperature ranges from -50F in winter to +95F in summer. After my fill of that, I moved to central Vancouver Island in south-west BC and gardened in pots on a sailboat for 11 years followed by a ten-year stint in a narrow, trailer-park garden in the temperate rainforest. At last, in July of 2014, I bought my current home in the drylands of the southern Interior of the Province to begin the learning curve once again. It's been a ride!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

