On to September!

Looking over the Valley

view-from-front-summer-2015

I love September and October! The worst of the summer’s heat is past and all the gardens are lush with flowers, veggies and fruit. Some mornings, one wakes to see short-lived snow creeping down the mountainsides.

Above is a panoramic image of the Fraser River flowing through Lillooet, taken from the middle of the front driveway. You can see the lane on the left heading north, and on the right heading south. I love this view at all times of the year. The vineyard and winery across the river is deep green all summer. On Hallowe’en night, I can look over the bank and watch the groups of little ghosts and ghouls going from door to door in the subdivision down below, and in Spring it’s great to watch the leaves turn from spring yellow to light green to deep green. Right now I am watching ice floes heading down the river as it prepares for winter freeze-up and tonight, if it’s clear, I’ll see the half moon shining on the snow-capped mountain across the way. It never ends!!

sept-29-2016-1

This is a view of the Main Garden in mid-September. What a mess, eh? Under the blue tarpaulin is the metal roofing for the addition. It is hard to enjoy any garden here except the Pass-through Garden at the right with the giant Nicotianas blooming their heads off. Most of the junk has now been cleared away except for the remaining roofing. Soon it will be stored in the garage until needed for the planned re-roofing of the old house in a couple of years. Next Spring this area will be under construction again, but with garden-building this time!

sept-27-2016-1

This is a September 27 view of a tall Michaelmas Daisy that I brought from the previous garden. It originally came from a city park that was being torn up, so I don’t know its variety name, but I love the colour of its flowers! I managed to get a pillar of colour on it by repeated pruning beginning in late June, when I began cutting the stems at the front progressively shorter as the pruners went down. I am quite pleased at how it turned out!

sept-30-2016-4

Here’s a late September view of the Hugelbed, aka, Food Forest, taken from the second story of the addition. The tree with yellow-orange leaves is the Nectarine and the very tall plants to the left of it are Jerusalem Artichokes. The Morning Glory flowers can barely be seen from the ground but are wonderful from up here!

It snowed for the first real time last night and I’m glad that all the overwintering plants are inside. I’ve already started 3 little coleuses for the Spring garden and I’m anxiously awating the first of the seed catalogues at the end of the month. Then I can once more begin dreaming!!

About Trillium

Retired teacher living in Lillooet on the banks of the Fraser River in the mountains of the Interior of British Columbia in western Canada. I have gardened since I was 3 and I recently turned 71 years of age, so it has been a long time. I began gardening in southern Quebec in eastern Canada, just north of the Vermont border. Next, I tried it in Prince George, in central British Columbia, where the temperature ranges from -50F in winter to +95F in summer. After my fill of that, I moved to central Vancouver Island in south-west BC and gardened in pots on a sailboat for 11 years followed by a ten-year stint in a narrow, trailer-park garden in the temperate rainforest. At last, in July of 2014, I bought my current home in the drylands of the southern Interior of the Province to begin the learning curve once again. It's been a ride!!
This entry was posted in British Columbia, Dryland Gardening, Gardening, Lillooet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

