August

Bougainvillea Time!

bougainvillea-july-29-2014

I have been struggling to get this Bougainvillea to bloom for 3 years now, so this year I put it on the sunny side of the grapevines, in the Hugelbed. This is the hottest part of all the gardens and it’s well sheltered from any wind. It worked!!!

The bad part was that it couldn’t be seen from anywhere but in the Hugelbed, where I seldom went this year. Of course, it has to winter inside in a sunny window in zone 5, but if it blooms like this each year, it’s worth it to me! This year, it’s going near where the addition meets the old house, probably by a living room window. That area is really hot and protected, too. In fact, I’ve found few plants that do well there without huge amounts of water other than a daylily, a sage, a Tradescantia and a red yucca that I grew from seed but has never bloomed but really likes it there. Maybe the Bougainvillea will like it there, too!

august-31-2016-1

This is a Hollyhock that also liked the hot southwest wall of the house (but which needed a lot of water). Early in the season, it was tall and full of holes from bugs of some sort when it bloomed with small, pinkish-white flowers. During the construction it was broken down and I cut most of it off, and in August it regrew with big, healthy leaves and these wonderfully-large white flowers with just a touch of pink in them. It grew about 6 feet tall, then was knocked down again!

In the spring, I plan to move it further along the wall so it won’t be in the shade of the overhead deck when it’s built. Hope it survives the move!

august-26-2016-2

This is one of my many self-sown Amaranths – “Love Lies Bleeding” that sprouted up everywhere in the gardens. This one was at the entrance to the Food Forest and I think it was wonderful!

august-9-2016-1

Here’s my little, over-wintered Fig tree that spent last winter buried outside. This year it sprouted these 4 branches and once I moved it beside the living room wall, it produced several fruit. While only 2 ripened, they were delicious!

This winter, it is in the cellar where it’s dark and close to freezing, along with the Cannas, Dahlias and Begonias. let’s hope they all make it through well and perform well again this coming summer!

august-20-2016-1

This Sedum (“Arctic Frost”, if I remember correctly), is in the Arbour Garden along with the grapes and the Morning Glories this year. It had its best year ever since a friend gave it to me several years ago. It had lots of sunshine until the Morning Glories grew up and shaded it but by then the flower buds had formed.

These two images were taken from the middle (more or less) of the Xeric Bed on the sunny, south west front of the house. The left one looks toward the house while the right one looks toward the lane. Lots of yellow in August, from Gaillardias, Solidagos and yellow Achilleas. Blue is from Perovskaya, while purple and pink comes from 2 Sedums – “Thundercloud” and “Matrona”. some of these are doing so well that they’ll need to be split and moved soon. For the coming season, I have already planted Anthemis seedlings and wild Asters as well as seeds of the native Balsamroot to see if they’ll grow in my soil.

As you can tell, I have a habit of overplanting. I do this because I know that some won’t survive, some are long-time favourites and some I’ve never heard of before. Also, I try to have something in bloom from early Spring to very late Autumn, as well as some that look good in Winter, too. I wonder how it will all look in 5 years!

About Trillium

Retired teacher living in Lillooet on the banks of the Fraser River in the mountains of the Interior of British Columbia in western Canada. I have gardened since I was 3 and I recently turned 71 years of age, so it has been a long time. I began gardening in southern Quebec in eastern Canada, just north of the Vermont border. Next, I tried it in Prince George, in central British Columbia, where the temperature ranges from -50F in winter to +95F in summer. After my fill of that, I moved to central Vancouver Island in south-west BC and gardened in pots on a sailboat for 11 years followed by a ten-year stint in a narrow, trailer-park garden in the temperate rainforest. At last, in July of 2014, I bought my current home in the drylands of the southern Interior of the Province to begin the learning curve once again. It's been a ride!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

