June Brings the Longest Day of the Year

You can almost hear the plants growing!

By June, planting was well underway and in the Courtyard Garden, some plants beside the house had to be moved elsewhere so as not to be trampled while construction took place. New additions to other gardens kept me busy along with demolition and preparations for new foundations.

june-1-2016-1

This antique metal urn was a going-away gift when I moved here. It still needs a paint job (didn’t get it this year – maybe next) and after a couple of years’ stint as a mini firepit, I finally planted it up this year. Some frilly petunias and my large agave look pretty good! See how the Mullein has grown! Eventually it will become like a prehistoric dinosaur and be a conversation piece for walkers along the lane.

june-3-2016-2

One of the plants in the Courtyard Garden that stayed in place blooming profusely in early June. I discovered that with regular deadheading, this Sanguisorba menzeisii bloomed until Fall. What a time I had, though, protecting it from construction workers and falling timbers!

The Pulmonaria, with spotted leaves, along with its mate further along this bed, did extremely well in this relatively shady area and grew so large by Fall that I was able to split it into 4 to spread as an edging to the bed for next Spring.

june-27-2016-4

In this June picture of the arbour you can see the morning shadow of the 2-story extension as well as the fast-growing Morning Glories. Already, they had hidden the grape vines and were providing shade from the blistering afternoon sun in this part of the garden. The arbour is about 6 feet away from the building, so with a 2-foot flower bed for semi-shade loving plants, there’s room for a 4-foot wide pathway, just enough for my garden cart to pass along. I think that in the next year as the grapes fill in, I’ll need to move many of these plants to the sunnier place in front of the new patio. They will be replaced by hostas, ferns and pulmonarias.

By the way, the orange plastic lid is part of a clean-out for the new sewer line that runs along the back side of the extension.

june-20-2016-10

On the left side of the last image you can see the shelf made for this bonsai sumac tree. I bought it as a seedling last Fall and started training it this summer. In about 5 years it should begin looking really good! In Winter I lower it to the ground and cover the pot with leaf mulch.

june-3-2016-1

Back in the Courtyard Garden once more but on the other side of the pathway, June provides blooms of white Valerian and Campanulas. While they appear white in this picture, these Campanulas are bright pink and end up 4 feet tall as the bloom all summer. wonderful plants, but I had no idea how big they’d get!

And, standing over them all, is the Cornus florida that I showed in an earlier image when in bloom.

There’s also a dwarf Alberta Spruce beside the bridge over the creek from Willy’s Pond. Later in the Fall, I finally got most of this bridge built. Next Summer I need to install the braces and give it a coat of white paint.

june-20-2016-20

Last, for today, are these carrot flowers from last year’s crop. I left them for seed and scattered the seeds around in November to see what would happen in Spring. Time will tell!

About Trillium

Retired teacher living in Lillooet on the banks of the Fraser River in the mountains of the Interior of British Columbia in western Canada. I have gardened since I was 3 and I recently turned 71 years of age, so it has been a long time. I began gardening in southern Quebec in eastern Canada, just north of the Vermont border. Next, I tried it in Prince George, in central British Columbia, where the temperature ranges from -50F in winter to +95F in summer. After my fill of that, I moved to central Vancouver Island in south-west BC and gardened in pots on a sailboat for 11 years followed by a ten-year stint in a narrow, trailer-park garden in the temperate rainforest. At last, in July of 2014, I bought my current home in the drylands of the southern Interior of the Province to begin the learning curve once again. It's been a ride!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

