Memories of Last Summer

The Merry Month of May

Today I’m catching up with some pictures taken in May. May is a wonderful month for flowers here in Lillooet!

may-11-2016-1

This is my first Azalea – “Golden Lights”, which came from the former garden and which is extremely hardy (zone 3). When blooming, it scents up a large area around it. It’s in the Passthrough Garden, beside the back corner of the garage where it gets morning sun and afternoon shade. It is surrounded with Geranium, “Mourning Widow”, Feverfew and, later on, with pansies.

may-13-2016-1

This is one of the many blooms I had from an unknown variety of peony I was given from an old Lillooet garden a few blocks away when the owners passed away and the relatives gave me some plants. I quite like them! I just hope that they are not all the same kind!

may-14-2016-1

This is my only Tradescantia – “Blue and Gold”, I think. You can see the gold beginning to appear in the leaves. later, as the sun gets higher overhead and the plant sees more of it, the gold spreads among the leaves and contrasts well with the blue flowers. This year, it bloomed from mid-May until November! It is sited beside the building on the south side where it’s extremely hot and dry. This flower bed is due for a major upgrade and enlargement this summer, once the new patio is built. 

At the end of this bed is where the new addition meets the old house. A new concrete patio with a deck overhead is planned for that area so this bed will bend along the front of the concrete in a curve. I’ve been growing Japanese Quince seedlings for a short, pruned flowering hedge to prevent people from walking through the bed when going to and from the patio. We’ll see how THAT works!

may-16-2016-5

Mid-May in the Hugelbed. My mini food forest is doing well. Some residents are doing TOO well, such as Chocolate Mint, Rhubarb, and the male Sea Buckthorn. The female was almost done in by Willy, the dog, in its first winter and is slowly recovering. In the left foreground you can see some arching branches of Goji Berries and in the left background is the new Nectarine that is replacing the many failed peach trees. 

If you look closely, on the fence you can see one of the grape vines on its way up. I pruned them for the first time this year. In a later post, I’ll show you how well they did during the summer. I did get my first little crop of delicious grapes in September! I didn’t have time for this garden all summer, so it really went wild. This spring I’ll have to prune and build supports for the Sea Buckthorns and Goji Berries, as they tend to lie on the ground and send suckers everywhere. This overcrowds the space and makes it hard to walk without tripping. I really need to “chop and drop” many more guild plants like Comfrey and weeds to open up more air space for bush fruits to ripen.

Last year, you may remember, I planted gourds on the arbour to close this garden in. This year, I seeded Morning Glories and Moonflowers instead. I didn’t see any Moonflowers but the Morning Glories took over almost as much as the gourds did last year! In 2017, I’ll leave it to the grapes to fill in and perhaps just plant a few Sweet Peas on the fencing.

may-22-2016-1

Here’s the climbing rose, “Night Owl” that I brought from the previous garden, looking good on the front fence after a massive winter pruning by Willy. I think it’s very pretty and I look forward to it eventually stretching out along the fence.

This summer I added a blue Juniper to this part of the Main Garden bed. When it fills in somewhat, it should make a good evergreen punctuation mark to this end of the bed.

This summer, most of the centre of the main Garden was occupied with piles of building materials to the extent that the gardens on either side could hardly be seen. Nevertheless, the plants all did reasonably well and should be in a good position to do very well in 2017!

About Trillium

Retired teacher living in Lillooet on the banks of the Fraser River in the mountains of the Interior of British Columbia in western Canada. I have gardened since I was 3 and I recently turned 71 years of age, so it has been a long time. I began gardening in southern Quebec in eastern Canada, just north of the Vermont border. Next, I tried it in Prince George, in central British Columbia, where the temperature ranges from -50F in winter to +95F in summer. After my fill of that, I moved to central Vancouver Island in south-west BC and gardened in pots on a sailboat for 11 years followed by a ten-year stint in a narrow, trailer-park garden in the temperate rainforest. At last, in July of 2014, I bought my current home in the drylands of the southern Interior of the Province to begin the learning curve once again. It's been a ride!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

