Almost Christmas, 2016

Catching Up – December 5, 2016

I know that it has been a very long time since I last wrote anything. My only excuse is that I have been completely preoccupied with the construction of a two-story addition to the house which has almost doubled its size. With problems involving incompetence, delayed workers, theft of materials and the worst weather in years, after an April start, the building has just last week been closed in for winter. Just in time for the first below zero winter storm of the year.

So now I have time to summarize the garden events of the year.

The images above are all from March and April and represent the various gardens that I am developing. Many of the plants were pretty much ignored all summer. I did my best to water with some regularity, but, luckily, it rained more regularly than is usual in this normally dry area. While that hindered the building process, it certainly helped my new plants to settle into there new homes.

In the top row from the top left above, you can see Corydalis, purple and white Fritillarias and white Mukdenia, and my new Nectarine in bloom in April.

The second pair of pix show Orange Emperor tulips and an early spring view of the xeriscape garden with Artemisia in the foreground.

Next down, there are four images showing my overwintered cacti and succulents along with a self-sowed native Mullein by the front entrance, Sandwort (Arenaria), “Lemon Ice”, the first ever flowers on my Cornus Florida in the Courtyard Garden and some new tulips, “Antoinette”, I think, along the back fence in the Courtyard Garden.

The first of the next pair of pictures shows variegated Solomon Seals paired with Pelargonium, “Vancouver Centennial” (overwintered now for nearly 10 years in the house), a tall bearded Iris given to me by my neighbour and some white Sweet Williams given by another new friend, almost ready to bloom. The other image in this row shows another shot of that Corydalis, still blooming – it’s becoming a great favourite of mine as it seems to like it here in the main garden, where it gets morning sun and afternoon shade in spring (it goes dormant when the summer heat arrives and disappears underground).

The last two pix are from late April, and show more of that Corydalis and an old French bush rose with lovely perfume, Blanc Double de Coubert. It came with me from my former garden and is near the end of the garage driveway in another really dry area.

I have lots more pictures to come in the next days along with progress reports on the Veggie Garden, Xeriscape Garden, Food forest/Hugenkultur Garden and the other gardens. Also, reports on the grape arbour and the planned Northwind Garden at the back of the new addition. If you could be there tonight, you’d know how it got its name! Brrr!!

About Trillium

Retired teacher living in Lillooet on the banks of the Fraser River in the mountains of the Interior of British Columbia in western Canada. I have gardened since I was 3 and I recently turned 71 years of age, so it has been a long time. I began gardening in southern Quebec in eastern Canada, just north of the Vermont border. Next, I tried it in Prince George, in central British Columbia, where the temperature ranges from -50F in winter to +95F in summer. After my fill of that, I moved to central Vancouver Island in south-west BC and gardened in pots on a sailboat for 11 years followed by a ten-year stint in a narrow, trailer-park garden in the temperate rainforest. At last, in July of 2014, I bought my current home in the drylands of the southern Interior of the Province to begin the learning curve once again. It's been a ride!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

