Xeriscape Garden

Lately, a local shopping centre has been doing a major renovation. As part of this, the sidewalks are being replaced so I got permission to collect suitably sized pieces of the broken cement for my dry walls that terrace the slope in my Xeriscape Garden at the front of the house and Veggie Garden.

I began this project over a year ago but ran out of cement. Now, with a fresh supply of material, progress has accelerated. Here are a couple of pictures that I took this afternoon (February 18, 2016).

Feb 18, 2016-1
Feb 18, 2016- 2

I have nearly finished the rockwork in the upper image but still have quite a way to go in the lower one. You can see where I ran out of material for the upper wall between the two posts. I also need to raise the area where the large, flat pieces are in the lower wall. I should have more pieces of cement next week.

Going back to the upper image, I need to do something around the base of the concrete planter for the pine tree, but I haven’t yet decided if I’ll use more pieces of broken concrete or just level it and mulch with crushed limestone from the driveway.

A friend has built me bird houses for the tops of the posts holding up the fencing. One is an outhouse and the other has a sign, “Gord’s Bird B&B”. He usually sells them at large craft fairs so I’m pretty pleased to get them for free!!

While my Snowdrops are blooming in the Courtyard Garden out back, I haven’t yet planted any out here. However, I DO have Tulip saxatalis out here and, as you can see in the next picture, they are just emerging from the soil now. At the base of the Pine tree I have Snow Crocuses, but they were newly planted last Fall and haven’t yet put in an appearance. Neither have the Camassias.

Feb 10, 2015-2If the unusually warm weather holds (El Niño), I should have flowers out here in just a few weeks!!

About Trillium

Retired teacher living in Lillooet on the banks of the Fraser River in the mountains of the Interior of British Columbia in western Canada. I have gardened since I was 3 and I recently turned 71 years of age, so it has been a long time. I began gardening in southern Quebec in eastern Canada, just north of the Vermont border. Next, I tried it in Prince George, in central British Columbia, where the temperature ranges from -50F in winter to +95F in summer. After my fill of that, I moved to central Vancouver Island in south-west BC and gardened in pots on a sailboat for 11 years followed by a ten-year stint in a narrow, trailer-park garden in the temperate rainforest. At last, in July of 2014, I bought my current home in the drylands of the southern Interior of the Province to begin the learning curve once again. It's been a ride!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

