Xeriscape Garden

Today, I’d like to show you some views of the Xeriscape Garden. It’s located in front of the wire fence that protects the Veggie Garden from the local animals. It borders the right side of my parking area and has been terraced with the bits of an old, broken sidewalk that was torn up when I enlarged the car park area. It is very hot and dry there as it slopes down southward from the Veggie Garden and any water tends to run off and into the street. It is also baked by the hot sun almost all day in summer. In the photo below, the area I’m referring to today goes diagonally from the corner of the house at the right of the 2 small windows, to where the photographer was standing when this was taken. That is where the current fence runs and it is the area from that fence toward the car park at the left where I’ve built the Xeriscape Garden.

House Closeup

 

By February, 2015, this area looked like what you see below. Crushed rock had been spread over the car park and I had made a rough dry stone wall to raise and level part of the steep slope down from what would become the Veggie Garden. The fence posts were in the ground waiting for a load of mushroom compost to be applied for the vegetables before the fencing went up.

If you look closely, you can see the bare stems of my Zelkova shade tree. It is a tree that resembles an American Elm when mature. However, it is considerably shorter and has much smaller leaves. It’s also not susceptible to Dutch Elm Disease. Since it’s vase-shaped, eventually it should shade the house roof while allowing sunshine onto the Veggie Garden.

Feb 3, 2014-3

Since then, I’ve added various drought-tolerant plants (some of which died due to lack of water in their first year – my fault). I’ll need to replant some of those, but not just now. I have some native Opuntia (cactus) from across the road to see if they’ll take hold, as well as several varieties of Solidago (Goldenrod), Sempervivum (Hens & Chicks), Sedums and Euphorbia myrtinides. This year, I hope to try Dill again and I planted a tiny Wolf Willow seedling about 4 inches high last fall as well as numerous species bulbs that should like it here.

I don’t yet have a good picture of it yet, but now, between where the wire fence connects with the wall of the house, and the porch, I’ve built a 4-foot diameter concrete block planter which houses my Chinese Penjing Pine tree. For those who don’t know, Penjing trees arre the larger, Chinese form of Bonsai. I have had this tree for years in a large pot and decided to move it here.  I thought it would look good raised above the surrounding area but able to put its roots into the ground to enable it to grow larger. There needed to be something evergreen here and I had to put it somewhere where Willy could not tear any more branches from it. It will take a few years to get back to the state it was in before his attacks!

 

 

About Trillium

Retired teacher living in Lillooet on the banks of the Fraser River in the mountains of the Interior of British Columbia in western Canada. I have gardened since I was 3 and I recently turned 71 years of age, so it has been a long time. I began gardening in southern Quebec in eastern Canada, just north of the Vermont border. Next, I tried it in Prince George, in central British Columbia, where the temperature ranges from -50F in winter to +95F in summer. After my fill of that, I moved to central Vancouver Island in south-west BC and gardened in pots on a sailboat for 11 years followed by a ten-year stint in a narrow, trailer-park garden in the temperate rainforest. At last, in July of 2014, I bought my current home in the drylands of the southern Interior of the Province to begin the learning curve once again. It's been a ride!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

