Beauties of the Past

The Patient Gardener

Here are a few of my favourite flowers from last year. We’ll begin in the spring and work through the fall. I’ll try to be judicious and not to bore you!

March 26, 2015-2

One of my favourite tulips since I was a kid and was allowed to order my own bulbs: “Red Emperor”! These are near the front entrance of the house as I always like to have some sort of red flowers there – something to do with Feng Shui and encouraging good spirits or repelling bad ones! Here’s hoping the bulbs got enough nutrition last summer to build strong buds for this year! The Emperors are planted beside a Heather (Erica “White Perfection”) that blooms from January until late February here, and a small Yew (which had a very hard time and lost many branches the first year here). Last summer, I overplanted with pink Verbena, which did very well in the heat and constant sunshine. This year I hope to try red Verbenas.

April 18, 2015-3

These Orange Emperor tulips bloomed in April on the north side of the garden shed where it’s a bit cooler than out front. I liked them so much that I bought more this past Fall to enlarge the clump here. Behind them are the trellis for one of the Trumpet Vines (Campsis) and the fence around the Hugelbed that now supports grapes.

April 28, 2015-3

Everything seemed to begin to bloom in April last year! These are Euphorbia, “Bonfire” with smouldering red leaves in the hot sun on the south side of the house. Easily visible are my many weeds, some of which are the only plants I’ve found that can stand this place without excessive watering all summer! A few are actually quite attractive later in the season.

April 28, 2015-4

Here’s my “Beauty of Moscow” Lilac on April 28, 2015. Please ignore the ratty garage behind it and the shelving outside for temporary storage. Also, please note that the Passthrough Garden path is still mostly soil in this early view. That garage still needs a coat of paint, but the larger of the two windows is now a blue door into the garage.

May 26, 2015- 1

By late May, the Valerian was beginning to bloom, and it just became bigger and better for well over a month. This came with me from the old garden, and I’ve never seen it happier! It loves this hot, dry climate!

Once it eventually began to look past its prime, I planted Amaranthus (“Love Lies Bleeding”) seedlings around it in the barrel, and they took over once I cut off the Valerian flowers.

Next time, we’ll look behind the house at the Courtyard Garden and see a bit more of its evolution over the last couple of years.

About Trillium

Retired teacher living in Lillooet on the banks of the Fraser River in the mountains of the Interior of British Columbia in western Canada. I have gardened since I was 3 and I recently turned 71 years of age, so it has been a long time. I began gardening in southern Quebec in eastern Canada, just north of the Vermont border. Next, I tried it in Prince George, in central British Columbia, where the temperature ranges from -50F in winter to +95F in summer. After my fill of that, I moved to central Vancouver Island in south-west BC and gardened in pots on a sailboat for 11 years followed by a ten-year stint in a narrow, trailer-park garden in the temperate rainforest. At last, in July of 2014, I bought my current home in the drylands of the southern Interior of the Province to begin the learning curve once again. It's been a ride!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

