Hardscaping, of a Sort

I have been a busy boy during the last couple of days moving barrows and barrows of rough wood chips onto the surface of the garden at the rear of the house and of the Courtyard Garden. Where it was uneven and muddy, it now has a nice, soft 8 inch thick surface of chips. You can see them below. While they are very fresh-looking now, in time, they will weather and turn dark to offset the flower borders.

I still need to level them somewhat so that tables and chairs sit properly but that won’t take much time. Then the other half of the mountain of chips I got for free from a tree-trimmer will go on as a second layer. In these two views it seems as though I’ve left very little space for the borders, but, trust me, once things sprout and grow, there will be lots to enjoy! I am considering whether or not to put baskets hanging along that long, back fence, and, of course, there is a lot already planted in the Courtyard with more on order for there!

Jan 23, 2016- 2.jpgJan 23, 2016- 1

About Trillium

Retired teacher living in Lillooet on the banks of the Fraser River in the mountains of the Interior of British Columbia in western Canada. I have gardened since I was 3 and I recently turned 71 years of age, so it has been a long time. I began gardening in southern Quebec in eastern Canada, just north of the Vermont border. Next, I tried it in Prince George, in central British Columbia, where the temperature ranges from -50F in winter to +95F in summer. After my fill of that, I moved to central Vancouver Island in south-west BC and gardened in pots on a sailboat for 11 years followed by a ten-year stint in a narrow, trailer-park garden in the temperate rainforest. At last, in July of 2014, I bought my current home in the drylands of the southern Interior of the Province to begin the learning curve once again. It's been a ride!!
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

