The Courtyard Garden

Today, let’s talk a bit about the Courtyard Garden. This is the smallest of my gardens and the most private. Almost completely surrounded by either walls or high board fences, it faces north, north-east and currently has large trees of heaven shading it from the bit of afternoon sun that it gets late in the day. In winter, it never sees the sun at all.

The image below was taken in August of 2015, one year into the development of this garden. None of my plans are fixed in stone so this garden changes as time passes.

The view looks east toward the entrance to the Veggie Garden (that white gate made from a pallet). You can see the sheet of plywood that currently forms the Bridge over Shallow Water. “Shallow Water” is the fanciful name I’ve given to the overflow from Willy’s Pond at the right of the bridge.

This spring I plan to put railings at the sides of the bridge as the plywood becomes very slippery at times.

Last fall I planted a 4′ high Dwarf Alberta Spruce at the left of the bridge and right near the edge of the rivulet to add height in winter. The small tree with the yellow leaves is a Dogwood florida, another survivor of Willy’s attacks last winter and a few feet from it is another victim, Acer palmatum, “Orangeola”. It’s a lovely weeping maple from which the beast tore most of the low-hanging branches. It recovered quite well last summer, and he seems to have accepted it now.

Most of my hostas make this area home although one of them burned badly in the short but very hot amount of sunshine it got in summer mornings last year.

The pond now has a crude little fountain that keeps down the mosquito population and provides a cooling sound on those hot, airless summer afternoons!

I’ve ordered a pine, “Chief Joseph”, that turns golden in winter, then reverts to green in spring, for delivery in a couple of months. It will go against the back fence to add some colour in winter from the bathroom window when I brush my teeth in the mornings! Beside it is a white lilac that I brought with me, as lilacs grow very well all over Lillooet. It was another victim of Willy last year so it will need another couple of years to recover and bloom!

I’d like to show different views of this garden, but I still haven’t found the trick, so that’s it for today! Let’s continue with another post tomorrow!

20150805_190457_Burst01

About Trillium

Retired teacher living in Lillooet on the banks of the Fraser River in the mountains of the Interior of British Columbia in western Canada. I have gardened since I was 3 and I recently turned 71 years of age, so it has been a long time. I began gardening in southern Quebec in eastern Canada, just north of the Vermont border. Next, I tried it in Prince George, in central British Columbia, where the temperature ranges from -50F in winter to +95F in summer. After my fill of that, I moved to central Vancouver Island in south-west BC and gardened in pots on a sailboat for 11 years followed by a ten-year stint in a narrow, trailer-park garden in the temperate rainforest. At last, in July of 2014, I bought my current home in the drylands of the southern Interior of the Province to begin the learning curve once again. It's been a ride!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

